Say Pimento Cheese!

Last Friday evening, I decided we should have some drinks and snacks.  I was deliberating on what to throw together when the light bulb went off.  Pimento Cheese!  I had been having a hankering for it since out trip to Nashville, and it is really a cinch to throw together.  With it, I do think it tastes best to let the flavors meld together overnight, but like there was any chance in hell I was going to wait over night to eat it.  Please.

We served ours on Melba Toast snacks, but I would have preferred some crunchy crostini-bread type thing, but the bread at the grocery store looked pathetic so I improvised.

Pimento Cheese

  • 8 ounces (ish) of sharp cheddar cheese, grated very coarsely
  • 2 tablespoons mayo (I used store bought)
  • 1  small jar pimentos (around 4 ounces), drained (You can usually find these in the canned veggie aisle close to where canned artichokes are located)
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon mustard powder (I’m a big fan of Coleman’s Mustard)
  • 2 tablespoons pickle juice
  • Good sized pinch of salt and fresh ground pepper

Mix all together, slather on crunchy bread or crackers, and shove in your mouth.

My Notes

  • To get the cheese the right consistency, I run it through the the shredder blade of my food processor.  You can also just cut it into big chunks and put in the bowl of the food processor and grind it up that way.
  • We were out of dill pickles, but we had Cornichon pickles (tiny French super briny pickles) so I used their juice instead.
  • I like to eat pimento cheese with something pickled, and the more traditional go-to choice is pickled okra, but we just ate it with the Cornichons.
  • If you have any other cheeses in the fridge that are similar in consistency to Cheddar that you want to use up, throw them in.  I  think it is good to have a mix of a sharp and mild cheese, weather it be a milder Cheddar or Jack or Colby.   (Though I suppose a traditionalist would find this sacrilegious.)
4 responses to “Say Pimento Cheese!

  1. Uh oh. You’ve been bit by the Southern bug. This is one (tasty) thing, but if I see you posting about Velveeta and Rotel you’re going to have to go North on your next vacation!

  2. I just started making Pimento cheese too and I’m addicted, I love canning we make my Moms recipe we have changed a little over the years, and make them every year you really should take the canning plunge its so fun and its really hard to do anything bad with pickling. I’ve been canning for about five years now. My Mom died and we had to figure out her recipe my Dad and I since he always helped her, so now we always make Carols Dill Pickles every year. I loved reading your blog.

    • Thanks so much for checking out my blog! Yes, I MUST get into canning as I know I will definitely appreciate it in the middle of the winter when I have fresh veggies around to eat!

Leave a Reply

