Tacos, Tacos, Tacos!

I had been itching to make these flank steak tacos ever since buying some roasted jalapenos at a farmer’s market a few weekends ago.  I had just been waiting for a half-way nice day out to fire up the grill.  We ended up marinating the steak for about 5 hours and we were happy with the results, but I think it would have been even better if it had gotten to marinate over night.  I go back and forth on if I prefer corn or flour tortillas, and usually just end up with whatever strikes my fancy at the time – this day it was corn.  For the guacamole, I usually add tomatoes, onions, and cilantro to it, but I decided to go simpler this time.  I wanted the flavor of the avocado to add to the overall flavor of the dish, but not overwhelm it – I wanted the meat and jalapenos to be more of the star.  I  guess really it’s more of just an avocado spread rather than actual guacamole.  I’ll have to do a recipe for my normal guacamole soon.  Also, I normally would have added cilantro somewhere to this dish as I’m a big fan of it, but I did not have any on hand.  For the side of beans, I just sautéed some onions and green and red bell peppers and then added a can of black beans, some orange juice, and a little ancho chili powder.

Marinated Flank Steak

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • juice of 2 limes
  • juice of 1 orange
  • 2 cloves garlic, smashed up
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 flank steak (the one we used was right around 1 pound)

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and pour over steak to marinate.  If you have a large zip lock bag, put the steak in the bag and pour marinade into bag.  Squeeze out most of air to allow the marinade to get to as much surface area of the meat.  Set the bag into a sheet pan or Pyrex pan of some sort (to protect against possible leakage) and set in fridge.  Flip every few hours if possible.  If you don’t have a bag, put steak and marinade in a glass baking dish and cover with plastic wrap.  With this, since the marinade really only gets to one side of the meat at a time, make a conscious effort to flip the meat every few hours so it marinates more evenly.  Let marinate at least a couple of hours and up to 24.

When you are ready to cook the steak, get your grill ready.  You want your grill to be to a fairly high heat and you will be cooking the meat over direct heat.

Remove steak from marinade, and scrape off any excess marinade and garlic chunks.  Grill about 7 – 9 minutes per side for rare to medium rare doneness.  Allow meat to rest about 10 minutes.  Slice steak into very thin slices on the diagonal.

I love meat.

Guacamole (or Avocado Spread – call it what you want)

Mash up avocado in a bowl with  fork until kinda smooth yet still a bit chunky.  Add the lime juice, cumin, and season with salt.  Taste and adjust seasonings as necessary – add a little salt, lime juice, or cumin as you feel like.

To assemble the tacos, I use 2 corn tortillas for each taco.  They seem to fall apart way more so than flour tortillas, and using two seems to help that situation (I HATE when my whole taco falls apart!).  Heat tortillas up for a few seconds either in the microwave or on your grill if it’s still hot.  Slather on some avocado spread, some flank steak, and marinated jalapenos.  I served my with a little lime wedge, too.

One response to “Tacos, Tacos, Tacos!

  1. That marinade sound tasty. I finally can buy flank steak and know what to do with it. Now if the snow would just disappear…

Leave a Reply

