It Really IS Incredibly Delicious

So, to all my fellow Springfielders (or anyone planning a visit to the glorious Land of Lincoln), I want to make sure anyone who is not aware yet, that we are lucky enough to have one of the best bakeries in town I have ever been to, here or anywhere.  If you have not been to Incredibly Delicious before, stop what you are doing right now and go.  Well, not really, because they actually have somewhat limited hours and about a third of the time I go they end up being closed I have a total fit (what, me, over-react? never!)  They seem to close by 5 on weekdays and 3 on Saturdays, and closed on Sundays.  I suppose I could check the website to verify…

Anywho, I made it there Saturday in the nick of time to grab a few slices of assorted desserts.  My parents were in town and we were celebrating my husband’s birthday, and I was cooking dinner, but I decided in order to ensure a quality birthday dessert (read: I had been busy that day and did not come up with enough time to cook both dinner and dessert), we would simply buy something.

Right out of the take-home box

Our selections included a flourless chocolate cake with chocolate ganache, a raspberry torte with a hazelnut and pistachio crust, a pecan tart with caramel whipped cream, and a white cake with butter cream frosting with strawberry filling.  So beautiful! Their desserts truly are works of art. The flourless chocolate cake was a bit much for me, but my stepdad, chocolate obsessive that he is, rated it first class.  The raspberry torte was light, with just the right hints of ginger and nuts.  I’m having a hard time deciding on if the pecan tart or the cake was my favorite.  The tart was sweet, but not overly so the way pecan pie can be, and I love the addition of caramel to the whip cream.  The cake was so moist, the buttercream was not heavy, and the strawberry filling was to die for.  Needless to say, plates were empty (we all shared) and they all went great with my Bailey’s and coffee.

Incredibly Delicious is right!

The bakery also serves lunch.  Though I have not been there for it in a few months, in the past I have had the best Quiche and bowl of asparagus soup I have ever encountered. And, they have a stand at our summer farmers’ market selling breads (the peppercorn Parmesan and the olive are two of our favorites) and these AMAZING croissants stuffed with Dijon mustard and ham.  If I get to the market too late, and the croissants are sold out, I almost shed a tear – they are that delicious.

Leave a Reply

