My First Gin Concoction

Well, I promised, and now I deliver.  I have created a Gin drink!  I knew I wanted to get some kind of aperitif (wiki definition is a drink before a meal to stimulate the appetite) to mix with it, and I wanted it to be versatile enough I could use it in multiple cocktails, and so I finally decided on Aperol, which is a kind of Italian bitter orange-y, rhubarb-y aperitif, similar to Campari, but a little sweeter.   I went with Death’s Door Gin, as I had tasted it and liked it, plus it is made in Wisconsin from organic products by a company that supports local ingredients.

My new Orange Betty drink that is calling my name.

Orange Betty

  • 1 1/2 ounce Death’s Door Gin
  • 3/4 ounce Aperol
  • 3/4 ounce fresh lemon juice
  • 3/4 ounce simple syrup
  • 3-4 dashes bitters
  • Orange Peel Garnish

Fill a short glass (practically over the brim) with ice.  In a larger glass, combine all ingredients except orange peel and stir with a spoon.  Pour into ice-filled short glass and garnish with orange peel.  Give drink a nice little swirl in your hand to chill and come together.

My Notes:

  • To make simple syrup, combine equal parts sugar and water in a small sauce pan and bring to a boil on the stove.  Let boil 3-4 minutes.  Remove from heat and let cool for about 15 minutes.  Transfer to container to be stored in fridge for a couple weeks.
  • For the brand of gin, use whatever you want.  I’m sure once I’m done with this bottle, I’ll try another brand.  I think it goes without saying, though, to not use the cheapest gin you can find.
  • I used Angostura bitters.  I would have tried some different ones, but it was all the liquor store carried that I was at.  I’m going to keep my eye out for some more exciting ones, though.
  • I think this cocktail would be great with the addition of some sort of herb, too – possible thyme or mint.
3 responses to “My First Gin Concoction

  1. We’re not big gin drinkers and this still looks amazing to me. Go with the fresh mint!

  2. Seems perfect for a day in the yard, grilling of course. Try Hendricks Gin next, and I agree with Rufus, go with the fresh mint.

    “Cinnamon bites and kisses simultaneously.”
    -Vanna Bonta

Leave a Reply

