Shrimp Satay with Peanut Sauce

Samina (of Samina Cooks!) recent post on Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce inspired me to do some of my own.  However, I was having my Dad over for dinner, and I know he loves shrimp, so I decided to swap out chicken thighs for some grilled shrimps.  I marinated the shrimp for about 30 minutes (not too long or your shrimp can get “over-marinated” and turn mushy and not good), grilled them, served them with a peanut sauce, and with some quick pickled cucumbers, radishes, and red onions.  Alas, I’m not sure where my head has been lately, and so this blog will also be missing the (almost) obligatory picture of food.  Sigh.

Shrimp Satay with Peanut Sauce

Serves 4 appetizer portions

  • 1 pound fairly large shrimp (U16-20, which means there is about 16-20 shrimp per pound, see this chart for more info), peeled and de-veined
  • 1 tablespoon fish sauce
  • 4 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • Peanut Sauce (recipe below)
  • Quick Pickled Cucumber and Radish Salad (recipe below)

Combine all ingredients except shrimp and stir up well.  Add shrimp and let marinate for about 20-30 minutes.  Remove shrimp from marinade and thread onto skewers (about 4 skewers, which have been soaked in water about 15 minutes to prevent them from burning, 4-5 shrimp per skewer.)  Discard remaining marinade.

Grill shrimps on grill about 2 minutes per side.

Serve with Peanut Sauce and Cucumber and Radish Salad.

Peanut Sauce

  • 2 garlic cloves, smashed up
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 2 teaspoons sriracha
  • 1 teaspoon fish sauce
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice (approximately juice of one lime)
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup chicken or veggie stock

Puree all ingredients in blender.  Taste to make sure it is to your liking.

Feel free to garnish with a few chopped up peanuts.

Quick Pickled Cucumber and Radish Salad

  • 1/2 medium sized cucumber, peeled, and sliced very thin (I sliced mine on a mandolin.)
  • 5 medium sized radishes, sliced thin (again, did mine on a mandolin)
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced thin, mandolin
  • 1/3 cup white wine or rice wine (unseasoned) vinegar
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons sugar
  • big pinch of salt
  • 2 cups water

Combine vinegar, sugar, salt, and water, and stir up until salt and sugar is completely dissolved.

Add cucumber, radishes, and onions.  Stir up, and let sit out on counter to pickled at least 30 minutes, ideally closer to an hour.

6 responses to “Shrimp Satay with Peanut Sauce

  1. I really like that. The marinade looks wonderful and I have all the ingredients for both. And Samina does have a great blog.

  2. The pickled cucumber and radish salad sounds great paired with the richer flavor of the peanut sauce! On a related note, I’d be curious about your take on (or if you’ve done any recipes with) ramps – I feel like they’re suddenly all the rage this season. Sauce magazine had a pickled ramp recipe that looked pretty tempting but I haven’t seen any ramps at the Farmers’ market yet.

    • No, I have never done anything with ramps. Every spring, I read about people going crazy for them (I think are like wild spring onions or something), but I have never been to a place that sells them – farmers market or restaurant.

  3. Ohh! I am so glad you tried this! I love shrimp. I think I will try your version, the next time I make this dish.

  4. Awww…the recipes sound so awesome that it is a shame there were no photos!!:( I am sure you were upset yourself….so I am not going to add to the misery:p Hope your dad enjoyed the meal, especially the special shrimp satay you prepared especially for him;)

Leave a Reply

