Pickled Cucumbers and Radishes

I love pickled foods.  I feel like I have not met a vegetable that I don’t like pickled.  I’ll even take some fruits pickled.  Last weekend at the market they had some pickling cucumbers, so I thought I’d make a quick, just kind of “standard” batch.  Next week when I get more, I’ll change up the pickling recipe to play around with the ingredients to see what works better (or, not so much better.)  I picked up a few radishes, too, and thought that the radishes with some spring onions would be a good combo as well.  Now, I’ve put these all in Mason jars, and I think they will keep fine in the fridge for about a month.  But, I did not actually “can” them, as in process them in a hot water bath.  I do hope to do that, though, for some veggies, relishes,  and what have you this summer.  Botulism be damned!

Yes, I do plan on making fried pickles with those spears!

Pickled Cucumbers and Pickled Radishes with Spring Onions

This recipe was enough for me to fill 3, 1-pint Mason jars.

  • A small basket of pickling cucumbers (maybe 5 or 6 cucumbers)
  • 1 bunch radishes
  • 2 spring onions, white or red

For cucumbers, I did one jar with the cucumbers sliced into quarter lengths (like pickle spears) and another with the cucumbers sliced thin lengthwise (like long, thin ones you find on a burger). For the third jar, I did radishes cut into quarters and the onions sliced very thinly on a mandoline.  Pack the veggies in  nice and snug.

Add to each jar:

  • 1 tablespoon black peppercorns
  • 1 teaspoon celery seeds
  • 1 teaspoon coriander seed
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 3 cloves garlic, whole
  • 1 clove garlic, minced

All ready for their pickling liquid

Make pickling liquid:

  • 3 cups white vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons salt

Bring vinegar, water, sugar,  and salt to a boil in a medium sized pot, and stir until salt and sugar is combined.  Remove from heat.

Very carefully, pour liquid into jars.  It is probably easier to first pour the liquid into some kind  of measuring cup or other container with a spout because it will make pouring the liquid into the jars much, much easier.  Fill the jars with liquid until it is almost halfway up the threaded neck, leaving only about a 1/2 inch until it would overflow.  Screw on lids tightly and put in fridge.  I let my pickles “pickle” in the fridge for a week before I started eating on them.

 

4 responses to “Pickled Cucumbers and Radishes

  1. This looks so fun! I know only a cook would say that. But it looks fun to eat and make.

  2. I’ve recently gotten some HUGE radishes from my CSA that I’ve been looking to use so this will be perfect!!! Do you think I could pickle garlic in a similar manner?

  3. I keep saying I am going to pickle some veg, I like you can eat any veg pickled. I’m sure the vinegar will kill any nasties, I only ever boil like you and am still here :0)

Leave a Reply

