Tuna Pesto Pasta Salad

Wow, Tuna Pesto Pasta Salad is a total tongue twister…but that really has no relevance to anything else, just thought I’d point that out.  Anywho, as I’ve stated, I’ve had a lot of pesto on hand, and I am using it on everything.  Here, I mix tuna, pesto, whole wheat pasta, and just a big assorted mix of random things from my fridge to make a really tasty salad.  If you don’t have all the below ingredients, no worries.  Like I alluded to, this is kind of “kitchen sink” salad, so just work with what you have.  We usually keep quite a few “Mediterranean-ish” staples on hand, so that is what we went with, plus I had a green pepper from my garden to add!

I added some of my fancy basil oil to it.

Tuna Pesto Pasta Salad

  • 8 ounces whole wheat pasta (we used penne)
  • Couple handfuls of mixed greens
  • 2 red spring onions, sliced thin on a mandoline
  • 1/2 cup fresh peas, blanched (use frozen peas, not blanched, if no fresh)
  • 1/2 cup roasted red peppers, diced
  • 1/4 cup pitted kalamata olives, sliced in half
  • 1 medium sized green pepper, diced
  • 1 can tuna, drained
  • 1/4 cup pesto
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan

Cook pasta in a pot of boiling water.  Drain and drizzle with just a tad (maybe 1 tablespoon) olive oil.

In meantime, mix onions, peas, red peppers, olives, green pepper, and tuna together.  Mix with a third of the pesto.

Once pasta has cooled, add pasta to tuna-veggie mixture and combine.  Add remaining pesto and a tablespoon of olive oil.

To serve, mix greens with a tablespoon of olive oil and put on plate.  Put couple of scoops tuna pasta mixture on lettuce and top with some shaved Parmesan.

Wish I would of had radishes from my garden to toss in.

6 responses to “Tuna Pesto Pasta Salad

  1. A simple, flavorful sounding pasta salad. Perfect for a no fuss summer meal.

  2. This looks great. We’re the same way about our pantry. I like to make lots of pesto in the summer and freeze it for use later in the year.

    • That was my plan, until I ate all of it, and then my basil plant just kinda went to nothing. I will have to stock up at the farmers’ market soon and make a big batch just to freeze!

  3. I somehow always forget how flexible and good pasta can be. Sounds like my kind of meal!

  4. I just found your wonderful blog! All the food looks delicious!!

    • Thank you so much! Very glad you stopped by and subscribed! And, I just checked out your and it is very impressive! Great layout and pics, and I am EXTREMELY jealous you live in Rome!

Leave a Reply

