Caprese Pasta

I eat Caprese salads pretty regularly in the summer – probably about once per week, especially when we are getting tons of tomatoes from our garden.  We had all the fixings for it the other day, but I was craving pasta (I seriously  think I may have a pasta addiction), so I decided to combine the two, and it it worked out great!

Caprese salad plus pasta? Genius!

Caprese Pasta

  • 1 pound pasta (I used orecchiette)
  • about 3 cups chopped tomatoes (I used a mix of different types and sizes – big tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, yellow tomatoes, whatever we had)
  • 8 ounces fresh mozzarella, cut into small cubes
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup good quality olive oil
  • several splashes balsamic vinegar
  • several big pinches salt and freshly cracked pepper

Cook pasta in salted boiling water until al dente.  In meantime, combine tomatoes, mozzarella, olive oil, and some of the salt and pepper.  Once pasta is cooked, drain and let sit for just a few minutes so not quite so hot.  After its cooled just a bit, add pasta to bowl with tomatoes.  Add in the balsamic vinegar, basil, and any more salt or pepper needed for seasoning.  Give it all a big stir and serve.

9 responses to “Caprese Pasta

  1. The photo is so good looking. I’ve got mozzarella in the refrigerator so I’ll add it to my next fresh tomato pasta dish instead locatelli.

  2. Yum, I really love caprese salad. Look really good.

  3. Oh!! Orecchiette pasta is perfect for this dish!! Your wonderful picture reminds me of a dish I had in Puglia, a beautiful region of southern Italy, where this pasta format comes from! Excellent post!

  4. This was so good! I can’t wait until we have it again. We have plenty of tomatoes and basil to use up.

  5. Yum! I’m a pasta addict myself, and love a good caprese salad so what a wonderful combo! Looks great

Leave a Reply

