Burger, Round 3 – The Breakfast Burger

Ok, even I’ll admit this burger is over the top.  But it certainly was delicious!  I had been wanting to do a burger with an over easy egg on it, and so I decided to craft it around a kind of “breakfast” theme – burger, bacon, over easy egg, and a maple coffee BBQ sauce.  My original plan was to put it on an English muffin, but somehow I forgot about that small detail at breakfast that morning and ate it then.  Oh well – buns worked out fine.

I think I can actually hear this burger calling my name!

Breakfast Burger with Bacon, Over Easy Egg, and Maple Coffee BBQ Sauce

Serves 2

  • About 10-12 ounces hamburger meat (I prefer 80/20 ratio) split into two patties
  • 6 slices bacon
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 buns or English Muffins
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 cup fresh brewed coffee
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth

Generously season patties on both sides with salt and pepper.  Grill over a hot grill about 5 minutes per side for medium to medium rare.

Lay bacon on sheet pan and cook in 350 degree oven for about 12 – 14 minutes, or until just crisp.  Place bacon on paper towel to drain off extra grease.

To make BBQ sauce, sweat onion in a medium sized sauce pan for about 10 minutes.  Add crushed tomatoes, coffee, mustard, maple syrup, brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce, and chicken broth.  Season also with a little salt and pepper. Thoroughly whisk together and let cook over medium heat for about 30 minutes.  Once sauce has cooked down and thickened up some, remove from heat and use either  a blender or an immersion blender to puree it up.

While burgers are finishing up on the grill, brush them with a bit of BBQ sauce during last minute or two of grilling.  Toast buns on grill.

Cook egg in non stick skillet over medium high heat.  Season with salt and pepper, and cook just until whites are set.  To help cook whites and yolks evenly, add a teaspoon or two of water to pan and cover with a lid during last 30 seconds of cooking.

Place burger on bun and add bacon and egg to burger. Slather top bun with more BBQ sauce, top burger with it, and serve.

18 responses to “Burger, Round 3 – The Breakfast Burger

  1. Sounds like you and Dan may have had a conversation about his (and his sons’) theory that anything is better with a fried egg on top!!!! I think I saw his mouth watering when I read this blog to him!!!

  2. I love that you ate the english muffin. LOL

  3. Over the top for sure… but is that a bad thing once in a while? I don’t think so…

  4. This was an awesome Burger! Whoever grilled the Burger really knew his way around a grill! We may have to do this Burger 1 more time before it gets cold.

  5. There is nothing wrong with this burger and if anything it is over the top with perfection…especially with the maplec coffee BBQ sauce!

  6. Simply tasty!!! I would say my most favourite comfort food!! I am so amazed about the fact that you used coffee and maple syrup in the bbq sauce recipe!!!! I have to try this!!!

  7. Wow, that looks amazing! I love bacon and eggs and I love BBQ burgers…therefore I have a strong feeling I’m going to love this combination. (~Ruth~)

  8. Oh that looks soooo good.

  9. This is such a wonderful recipe. A good over the top. Katherine had a similar burger in St. Louis with a poached egg and foie gras, except she was sick and couldn’t eat it. She managed to get maybe a few bites down and gave me the rest. I had two meals. So worth it.

Leave a comment