Salmon with Potato and Bean Pesto Salad with Tomato Vinaigrette

This dish was so light yet so satisfying.  I picked up about 4 bunches of basil at the market, and made several jars of pesto.  I love warm/room temp potato salads so I decided to pair it with fresh green beans and just use the pesto for a dressing.  I felt like maybe the dish needed just a little something else to tie it all together, so I threw together a quick vinaigrette by grating a tomato on a hand grater and mixing with some vinegar and oil, and there you go – a light vinaigrette that would pair perfectly the salmon and pesto salad. Wanted to grill the salmon, but weather prevented it.

Salmon with Potato and Bean Pesto Salad with Tomato Vinaigrette

  • 2 servings salmon
  • 1/2 pound fresh green beans, ends trimmed (I used a variety of beans from the market)
  • 1/2 pound new potatoes, sliced into 1/4 inch thick slices
  • 1/4 cup pesto (click on link for my recipe or just use store bought)
  • 1 medium sized tomato
  • 1 shallot, sliced thin
  • 1 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon powdered mustard (use Dijon if you don’t have powdered)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons chopped fresh herbs (I used parsley and oregano)

For potato salad, place sliced potatoes in a pot of salted, cold water.  Set on stove and bring to a boil. Once boiling, bring temp back to medium to medium high heat (keep it boiling, but not super rapidly so that it tears all the skins off the potatoes). Once potatoes are tender, drain and toss with just a bit of olive oil.  Blanch green beans in pot of salted water about 5 minutes or until tender (might be more or less time depending on how thick or tender your beans are).  To save time, I just added my beans to my potatoes that were boiling when about 5 minutes was left.  Drain.

Mix potatoes and green beans with pesto.  If seems a bit dry, drizzle with just a bit of olive oil.

For tomato vinaigrette, slice a tomato in half crosswise.  Give the tomatoes a bit of a squeeze of the sink to force out some of the excess water and seeds. Then, using a hand grater, rub the cut, fleshy  side of the tomato on the grater until all of the tomato has been pressed through (except for the skin – this should be left in your hand.)

Add the red wine, shallots, and mustard to the tomato  juice/pulp.  Season with some salt and pepper.  Slowly whisk in olive oil.  Mix in herbs and taste for any other seasoning needed.

To cook salmon, heat a pan over high.  Add a couple teaspoons canola or vegetable oil (those 2 oils have a higher smoke point that olive oil – meaning it won’t burn at high temps – and you want to use that since we are searing the fish over a high temp). Add to pan and let sear on one side about 3 minutes.  Turn and let sear another 2-3 minutes.  Pop into a 400 degree oven and let cook another 2-3 minutes or until almost cooked through (I like my Salmon at medium – not well!)

Serve salmon with potato salad and some tomato vinaigrette.  You’ll have left over vinaigrette.

11 responses to “Salmon with Potato and Bean Pesto Salad with Tomato Vinaigrette

  1. Excellent mixture of flavors!!! The combination of green beans, pesto and potatoes is great. Love that tomato vinaigrette!!

  2. I am intrigued by how you made the viniagrette with grated tomato.. i have not heard of that before and i look froward to trying it.. And you have reminded me to go out and pick some more basil and make another pesto.. i love pesto.. c

  3. Beautiful plating! I LOVE pesto…I have 3 basil plants because I can never have enough basil in the dishes I eat!

  4. Looks wonderful. It’s so simple, but I love potatoes and green beans together. And of course the fish looks great.

  5. Sounds great. Love the flavor combinations.

  6. What a great sounding recipe. The flavors must have really complimented each other. I’m going to try that vinaigrette with one of the tomatoes I have on my counter. I was looking for something different and you have given it to me.

Leave a comment