Pickled Veggies

Well, the farmers’ market is done, and our garden is gone.  But, I was able to stock up the last few weeks, and with the remaining beautiful summer veggies, I made a big jar of pickled vegetables.  Though I’ll list what all I put into it, it really is just up to personal preference and what is available.  I made sure to let mine “pickle” in the fridge for at least 5 days before I started eating on them, and they should last for about a month.

You can see some other things I pickled in the background - baby cabbage with sweet red peppers and the other is cherry tomatoes.

  • 1/4 head cauliflower, chopped small
  • 1/2 cup green beans, trimmed and cut in half
  • 1/2 cup zucchini, chopped into small pieces
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 3 sweet peppers, chopped
  • 5 radishes, quartered
  • 3 whole garlic cloves, 2 minced, 1 cut in half
  • 1 tablespoon black pepper corns
  • 1/2 tablespoon coriander seeds
  • 1/2 tablespoon cumin seeds
  • white vinegar (enough to fill half of the jar you are using) – I used a quart sized jar
  • 2/3 cup sugar (if using a quart)
  • 3 tablespoons salt

Blanch cauliflower and zucchini in a pot of salted boiling water for about 3 minutes.  Blanch beans in a pot of salted boiling water for about 5 minutes.  Drain each batch and shock in an ice bath.

Add enough vinegar to jar you are using to reach halfway.  Fill up remaining area in jar with water.  Pour into a medium-sized saucepan and add sugar and salt and bring to a boil.

In the meantime, add peppercorns, coriander, cumin, and garlic to jar.  Add all vegetables.  Pour vinegar mixture over and seal.  Let “pickle” in fridge for at least 5 days, and will keep for about a month in the fridge.

5 responses to “Pickled Veggies

  1. This is fantastic. I used to love eating the pickled veggies at Mexican restaurants in Cali.

  2. Wonderful. john does the same. In his family it is called “The last of the Garden” this is written on the jars. Yours look very good.. c

  3. I just love pickled vegetables. Their tang and chrispness adds so much to certain meals.

  4. Oh Nanner! I need you here! I should have pickled some of my farm share stuff, but life got in the way. I have SO much squash…I need some good ideas besides soup, ravioli, or just roasting it. We also got komatsuna and turnip greens this week. Who knows what I’ll do with them. Anyway, we need to discuss top cookbooks too…although my collection are mostly baking books.

    Love you, love this, can’t wait to keep reading…

    Xxoo kylie pooh

Leave a comment